SnippetMaster Support Forums
Return to main website
 
June 07, 2007, 06:16:41 PM
* Show unread posts since last visit.
* Show new replies to your posts.
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 07, 2007, 06:16:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:  
Advanced search
* Home Help Search Login Register
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  Suggestions & Feature Requests  |  Topic: Some issues « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Some issues  (Read 2668 times)
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Some issues
« on: September 04, 2002, 09:42:50 AM »

Hi,

Reading the specs of SnippetMaster I found it just "what I was looking for", thanks! I 'm sure it will become more and more popular!
Then I tested it locally on winNT4 SP6a, WebSitePro 3.1.13, PHP 4.2.2 ISAPI, MSIE 6, and found the following:

1. Needs register_globals=On in php.ini to work.
I 'm sure you know the security issues associated with this setting, the conversion of code to work with register_globals=Off should be top priority.

2. When "Save" is pressed, SnippetMaster tries to connect to www.electrictoad.com. Why? This also makes the behaviour very slow.

3. After editing an html page, a blank line is inserted after each html line in the file. The more edits, the more blank lines inserted. After a number of edits, I also noticed the html file was truncated at its end.

I will do more tests, as I really like this script, so there will be more later.

Thanks,
Kostas
Report to moderator   Logged
andacami

Posts: 5


[-] Some issues
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2002, 10:56:49 AM »

Thanks Kostas. Look forward to your findings with anticipation.
 Very Happy
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 1896

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Some issues
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2002, 12:48:20 PM »

Quote from: Kostas
Hi,
1. Needs register_globals=On in php.ini to work.
I 'm sure you know the security issues associated with this setting, the conversion of code to work with register_globals=Off should be top priority.


Anyone want to take a crack at getting the code to work with register_globals=off?  I'm just way to busy at the moment to do it.  Let me know.. (See the "I need help!" announcement in the announcement forums for further info: http://www.snippetmaster.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6)

Quote from: Kostas

2. When "Save" is pressed, SnippetMaster tries to connect to www.electrictoad.com. Why? This also makes the behaviour very slow.

Arg!  I totally forgot to remove this.  That whole line was to record my testing cycles, and I accidently left this in.  You can remove that whole section there, it is not necessary and is causing a timeout because the electrictoad.com doesn't have the file anymore.  This is likely what's causing another problem that was posted here.. thanks!  I'll remove this section and re-upload a new file for download later tonight.

Quote from: Kostas

3. After editing an html page, a blank line is inserted after each html line in the file. The more edits, the more blank lines inserted. After a number of edits, I also noticed the html file was truncated at its end.


Same deal as point 1.  If anyone wants to take a crack at fixing this, please let me know!  I'm open to any help.

Quote from: Kostas

I will do more tests, as I really like this script, so there will be more later.


Thanks Kostas!  I really appreciate the time you've spent on this.  Hopefully someone will be interested in helping to fix these problems.
Report to moderator   Logged
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Re: Some issues
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2002, 01:28:55 AM »

Quote from: Kostas

3. After editing an html page, a blank line is inserted after each html line in the file. The more edits, the more blank lines inserted.


Just a hint to anyone who tackles this one:

As I am using winNT, does the same happen under Linux/Unix??
If not, then it maybe has to do with the different interpretation of a New-Line (CarriageReturn/LineFeed) between the OSes.
So maybe look for New-Lines in the code and play with that to see what happens.

Regards,
Kostas
Report to moderator   Logged
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Re: Some issues
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2002, 10:57:20 AM »

Quote from: Kostas
After editing an html page, a blank line is inserted after each html line in the file. The more edits, the more blank lines inserted.


Can anyone using Linux/Unix please verify this one?

Thanks!
Kostas
Report to moderator   Logged
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Some issues
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2002, 11:02:11 AM »

Anyone  Question   Sad
Report to moderator   Logged
stu

Posts: 1


[-] Unix Box Test
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2002, 05:03:32 AM »

Yip its putting a blank line between each line of html code on a unix machine ... hope it helps you out

Cheers
Stu
 Laughing
Report to moderator   Logged
engratt

Posts: 1


[-] Some issues
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2002, 09:26:56 AM »

Hey there... I know the register globals is a pain.. I've used this workaround in the past for forms:

<?php                                                  
if (!empty($HTTP_GET_VARS)) while(list($name, $value) =
each($HTTP_GET_VARS)) $$name = $value;                  
if (!empty($HTTP_POST_VARS)) while(list($name, $value) =
each($HTTP_POST_VARS)) $$name = $value;                
?>                                                      

This code has the same effect as register_globals for post and get transactions. The preferred fix though is to use the "superglobal" $_REQUEST.  So far, it has worked for me to get through the SnippetMaster login to work with the $USER, $PASS, and $AUTH vars.  I know that the globals still requires some work.

For more on the http variables, see:

http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.variables.php#reserved.variables.request

This should be considered a mandatory fix, as many shops are now closing off register_globals due to talk of security risks..  There was a concern about "poisoning variables", so the php community decided register_globals is better off. See:

http://www.php.net/manual/en/security.registerglobals.php

I've started sifting through and figuring out a way to work with the globals, so if I come up with anything, I'll write back!

Hope this helps!
Steve
Report to moderator   Logged
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Re: Unix Box Test
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2002, 10:03:41 PM »

Quote from: stu
Yip its putting a blank line between each line of html code on a unix machine ... hope it helps you out

Thanks  Smile
Hopefully, some code expert will come up with a solution!

Regards,
Kostas
Report to moderator   Logged
Brad

Posts: 4


[-] Some issues
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2002, 10:58:23 PM »

Actually, I'm running it on unix here and I'm not seeing this issue.  Confused
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 1896

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Some issues
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2002, 09:28:45 PM »

I have not experienced this problem, either.  If anybody else is seeing blank lines being inserted into the HTML code.. please let me know.
Report to moderator   Logged
Kostas

Posts: 25


WWW
[-] Some issues
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2002, 11:27:18 PM »

OK, I checked again (with latest Lite edition).
Same thing: One blank line inserted per Save  Sad

Regards,
Kostas
Report to moderator   Logged
jdawes
Beta Tester

Posts: 32


WWW
[-] blank lines
« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2002, 12:57:42 AM »

I have just setup snippetmaster on a demo site for a client. I edited the same block of text 3 times. No extra lines in the code were added. Is there some particular formatting function that needs to be used to cause it? Or is there a particular set of html tags that don't get replaced properly.

Until I see that it is happening in my own code i am not going to worry too much about it, at present either this has been fixed since the last post or the problem is randomly weird and not 100% replicatable as far as I have seen thus far.
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 1896

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Some issues
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2002, 07:06:54 PM »

I have never been able to duplicate the error.. but I know some folks are getting it otherwise they wouldn't post!  I'm hoping the next version will remove this problem completely.  It is a complete rewrite of the editing engine.   Should be ready within a month or so.
Report to moderator   Logged
ikky75

Posts: 2


[-] yup, i get blank lines, too
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2002, 06:10:56 PM »

Hi, I'm using snippetmaster lite on a windows2000 machine. apache 1.3.2, php 4.3.0.

i get the blank lines every time also.

have been wracking my brain, and sifting through the code trying to figure it out.

the extra blank lines don't appear inside the snippet section. only in the code that's OUTSIDE the snippet area.

PLEASE help!

this doesn't affect functionality directly, but it's definitely a PAIN to delete all those extra lines when i want to work with the HTML.
Report to moderator   Logged
ikky75

Posts: 2


[-] oh, and i'm running it on my localhost
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2002, 06:15:40 PM »

not sure if this would be another relevant detail, but i'm NOT using snippetmaster for a live web site. only for my localhost.

here's the top part of my config.inc.php file, just in case that's helpful:

// This is the FULL path to the directory where the SnippetMaster program files
// are located.
// NOTE: If you put SnippetMaster in your "web root" directory, the $ROOT and
//       $PATH settings will then be the same. DO NOT add a trailing slash.
   $PATH = "c:/phpdev/www/snippetmaster";

// This is the FULL path to the directory where your website files are
// located on your server (Your web root). DO NOT add a trailing slash.
   $ROOT = "c:/phpdev/www/snippetmaster";

// Set to the full url to access the value you set for $ROOT
   $PREVIEW = "http://localhost";

// Set to the full url to access the value you set for $PATH.
   $URL = "http://localhost";
Report to moderator   Logged
hostu

Posts: 22


WWW
[-] lines
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2003, 07:27:39 PM »

just playing around i noticed if in the editor window i hit the enter key for the next line then went to html mode the enter was creating another paragraph each time,, ie<p>  </p>  which has always caused me a extra line so i go back to the html and delete the <p> </p> and use a normal <br> and all is ok,, so in the wysiwyg window maybe a buton to slelect the function of the enter key ie   as a <br> only or asis starts a new paragraph,,, <p>   i know nutting, but admin knows everything !  Shocked
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 1896

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Some issues
« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2003, 10:54:36 PM »

If you hold the SHIFT key while hitting enter, it should put in a <BR> tag instead of a paragraph tag.

Cheers!  Very Happy
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  Suggestions & Feature Requests  |  Topic: Some issues « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!