SnippetMaster Support Forums

General => Pre-Sales Questions => Topic started by: Wardsweb on March 07, 2006, 10:52:58 AM



Title: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Wardsweb on March 07, 2006, 10:52:58 AM
I want to purchase Snippet Pro but have been waiting for v2 to come out of Beta. Has this already happened or is there a quesstimate when it might?


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on March 07, 2006, 11:26:26 AM
No estimate, as all the ones I've made are way out of date.

Upgrades will be free to all existing license holders.. so you may as well purchase now and then upgrade later once it's finally ready. 

:)



Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Wardsweb on March 07, 2006, 12:53:40 PM
I started to purchase the reseller version of snippet master pro but was unsure about the host name for licensing.  Do I use my business website in this field  or will this affect how I use the software on my clients sites.

I tried sending you an email to 'info@snippetmaster.com' but it returened this :

Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

      Subject:   reseller licensing
      Sent:   3/7/2006 2:52 PM

The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

      'info@snippetmaster.com' on 3/7/2006 2:52 PM
            The recipient name is not recognized


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on March 07, 2006, 12:55:49 PM
You can send email to "henri @ snippetmaster.com" and it should get to me.  Hmm.. where did you find the "info@snippetmaster" link?  I'll check to see if that one is working...

The hostname (domain name) you would put when ordering is the domain for the license key.  So if you'll be installing this on your client's website, then you should put your client's domain name there.

:)

Cheers!


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Wardsweb on March 07, 2006, 12:58:12 PM
it is found at the bottom of the licensing page:
http://www.snippetmaster.com/order/step3.php


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on March 07, 2006, 12:58:40 PM
Ah... I see the info@ address there on the order 3rd page.

Ok.. I'll change this now.  Thanks for letting me know about that!



Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Wardsweb on March 07, 2006, 01:03:50 PM
It is also found on the link: Show Volume License Discount information in new window

I f I may suggest- just run a simple search and replace query on your site to change it everywhere.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Terminator1138 on March 14, 2006, 02:51:23 PM
I have a question, I have been beta testing and I'm curious, beta started back in mid november and I have not seen any updates if we are on RC1 or if there is more bugs or status on release.  I'm afraid when testing the only solution I see for my clients would be a latest version out of beta.

So to sum up, just curious on this since you stated in about five posts above, they are all out of date.  I understand, it will get done when it gets done and all.  Just wanting a tidbit of info also its a bit hard to follow the different betas in the beta section, maybe seperate out some subforums for such :)
Thanks.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on March 17, 2006, 10:01:47 AM
I'm going to work heavily on this over the weekend and then make a final RC1 release on Monday... whether it has ALL the features I wanted to add or not.

This is the problem with being a perfectionist, I guess.. it kills me to release a version that doesn't have ALL the features I wanted to add.. but now the time is getting rediculous, and I need to release what I have. 

Expect an announcement on Monday.  :)



Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: princeopersia on March 18, 2006, 08:48:10 AM
Will it support CSS?


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on March 21, 2006, 07:07:23 AM
Well, it's Tuesday now, and I am trying to get the files released today.  Of course, there's a problem with the encoding process... and the encoder I'm using is not working properly.  Grrr...

I've contacted the encoding system's vendor for help, so hopefully they'll respond soon.

CSS support won't be included in this release.  That's the feature I've been working on for the last month trying to add... and so far I just can't get it working properly.

What I'm going to likely do is:

1) Release what I have now.

2) Add "basic" CSS support only, for now.  ie: It won't automatically parse through the entire html file and grab all CSS styles, etc. But it'll let you specify a list of external CSS files, and then use those.  This is better then nothing, I think... until I can figure out how to properly search through an entire html file and get EVERY style that is specified, no matter where or how.  (very complicated!)

What do you think?



Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Terminator1138 on March 21, 2006, 07:30:36 AM
sounds good Henri, I think you are on the right track and all.  I think one can get tied up trying to add all what one wants and thinks that normally should not take long end up taking months to get right.

In the mean time you can release at least an update and then work on each feature with a new release until you get it all added :)

Best Regards,
Term


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: princeopersia on March 21, 2006, 09:26:13 AM
I like the idea of specifying the css file I want to use in the editor. In fact, I like this more than automatically finding all styles in the file!! This way I will be able to maintain some standard styles for the site.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: princeopersia on March 21, 2006, 09:39:30 AM
If all the files are encoded, will I still be able to add, say, an external link to the snippetmaster pages?

One of the features I had requested that probably didn't make it is the capability to add a blank file using a template. I was planning on writing a really small script that allows the admin to type in a name for the new file, and add it using a pre-defined template. The template path and name could be, for example, specified in the config file. I wanted the link to this script available on the snippet master editor pages.

Being unable to add new files, and only edit existing files, is a huge limitiation (in my opinion).


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Jenkinhill on March 21, 2006, 03:23:22 PM
Being unable to add new files, and only edit existing files, is a huge limitiation (in my opinion).

There are plenty of CMSs out here that do that already. Why re-invent the wheel?


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: princeopersia on March 21, 2006, 03:39:38 PM
Yes, but the other CMSes also allow editing of the whole page which I don't want. I like snippet master's ability and simplicity of allowing editing of just a snippet. Its just that it would be nice if the user can ADD a new page to the site. All that really means is copying an existing file/template to a new file and allowing user to then edit the blank snippet inside it.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Jenkinhill on March 22, 2006, 12:13:06 AM
Adding a page in would be fine - except that the next stage for most users would, I suspect, be to add the new page to a menu. That means allowing menu editing, which I can see many users having problems with. I like the simplicity of being able to edit selected text and images on pre-prepared web pages.

Adding in of pages could be done with SM as it currently stands. Prepare some blank pages with editable areas and have them added to the file editing list. Allow the user add content and create a link to the new page when they need to. I just wouldn't let them loose on a page menu.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: Fisherman on March 22, 2006, 02:59:44 PM
Adding a page in would be fine - except that the next stage for most users would, I suspect, be to add the new page to a menu. That means allowing menu editing, which I can see many users having problems with. I like the simplicity of being able to edit selected text and images on pre-prepared web pages.

Adding in of pages could be done with SM as it currently stands. Prepare some blank pages with editable areas and have them added to the file editing list. Allow the user add content and create a link to the new page when they need to. I just wouldn't let them loose on a page menu.

Wow! I agree with that. Just asking for trouble if you give the client too much control. Most of them are idiots. I'd rather they pay me for the additional page and new button and add a snippet tag to the new page. Cheap for them, less headaches for me and the page design stays intact. win-win! ;)


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: princeopersia on March 23, 2006, 12:35:47 PM
Well, maybe this feature could be turned on or off from the config file. But in any case, at this point, I'd just rather have the new pro version in any form.

Henri, one problem with releasing an RC1 instead of the production version is that the RC1 could get stuck in that stage just like the beta version has. I say lets release Version 2 and come out with any enhancements or fixes (patches, if any) later. What say, folks?

Dunno if you're having any luck with your encoding.

How about an April 1 release with the obvious fallback if things don't work out??  :D


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: dbowling on April 07, 2006, 01:20:33 PM
I would really like to see page creation too. I plan on addressing it by automatically generating the menu on the fly using php in the template... a solution that would be much easier for the user in the end.


Title: Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
Post by: admin on April 07, 2006, 04:36:31 PM
Beta version is now getting VERY close to a public release.  :)

The only thing stopping me now is that the "offline" license key system is not working yet.  (I'm working with the licensing program vendor to address this problem.)

I hope to have it working shortly.. and in the meantime I am still adding features and squishing the few remaining bugs.  It's looking good!