SnippetMaster Support Forums
Return to main website
 
February 19, 2018, 03:44:16 AM
* Show unread posts since last visit.
* Show new replies to your posts.
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 19, 2018, 03:44:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:  
Advanced search
* Home Help Search Login Register
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  Pre-Sales Questions  |  Topic: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta? « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?  (Read 14757 times)
Wardsweb

Posts: 4


[-] Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« on: March 07, 2006, 10:52:58 AM »

I want to purchase Snippet Pro but have been waiting for v2 to come out of Beta. Has this already happened or is there a quesstimate when it might?
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2006, 11:26:26 AM »

No estimate, as all the ones I've made are way out of date.

Upgrades will be free to all existing license holders.. so you may as well purchase now and then upgrade later once it's finally ready. 

Smile

Report to moderator   Logged
Wardsweb

Posts: 4


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2006, 12:53:40 PM »

I started to purchase the reseller version of snippet master pro but was unsure about the host name for licensing.  Do I use my business website in this field  or will this affect how I use the software on my clients sites.

I tried sending you an email to 'info@snippetmaster.com' but it returened this :

Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

      Subject:   reseller licensing
      Sent:   3/7/2006 2:52 PM

The following recipient(s) could not be reached:

      'info@snippetmaster.com' on 3/7/2006 2:52 PM
            The recipient name is not recognized
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2006, 12:55:49 PM »

You can send email to "henri @ snippetmaster.com" and it should get to me.  Hmm.. where did you find the "info@snippetmaster" link?  I'll check to see if that one is working...

The hostname (domain name) you would put when ordering is the domain for the license key.  So if you'll be installing this on your client's website, then you should put your client's domain name there.

Smile

Cheers!
Report to moderator   Logged
Wardsweb

Posts: 4


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2006, 12:58:12 PM »

it is found at the bottom of the licensing page:
http://www.snippetmaster.com/order/step3.php
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2006, 12:58:40 PM »

Ah... I see the info@ address there on the order 3rd page.

Ok.. I'll change this now.  Thanks for letting me know about that!

Report to moderator   Logged
Wardsweb

Posts: 4


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2006, 01:03:50 PM »

It is also found on the link: Show Volume License Discount information in new window

I f I may suggest- just run a simple search and replace query on your site to change it everywhere.
Report to moderator   Logged
Terminator1138

Posts: 6


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2006, 02:51:23 PM »

I have a question, I have been beta testing and I'm curious, beta started back in mid november and I have not seen any updates if we are on RC1 or if there is more bugs or status on release.  I'm afraid when testing the only solution I see for my clients would be a latest version out of beta.

So to sum up, just curious on this since you stated in about five posts above, they are all out of date.  I understand, it will get done when it gets done and all.  Just wanting a tidbit of info also its a bit hard to follow the different betas in the beta section, maybe seperate out some subforums for such Smile
Thanks.
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2006, 10:01:47 AM »

I'm going to work heavily on this over the weekend and then make a final RC1 release on Monday... whether it has ALL the features I wanted to add or not.

This is the problem with being a perfectionist, I guess.. it kills me to release a version that doesn't have ALL the features I wanted to add.. but now the time is getting rediculous, and I need to release what I have. 

Expect an announcement on Monday.  Smile

Report to moderator   Logged
princeopersia

Posts: 12


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2006, 08:48:10 AM »

Will it support CSS?
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2006, 07:07:23 AM »

Well, it's Tuesday now, and I am trying to get the files released today.  Of course, there's a problem with the encoding process... and the encoder I'm using is not working properly.  Grrr...

I've contacted the encoding system's vendor for help, so hopefully they'll respond soon.

CSS support won't be included in this release.  That's the feature I've been working on for the last month trying to add... and so far I just can't get it working properly.

What I'm going to likely do is:

1) Release what I have now.

2) Add "basic" CSS support only, for now.  ie: It won't automatically parse through the entire html file and grab all CSS styles, etc. But it'll let you specify a list of external CSS files, and then use those.  This is better then nothing, I think... until I can figure out how to properly search through an entire html file and get EVERY style that is specified, no matter where or how.  (very complicated!)

What do you think?

Report to moderator   Logged
Terminator1138

Posts: 6


WWW
[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2006, 07:30:36 AM »

sounds good Henri, I think you are on the right track and all.  I think one can get tied up trying to add all what one wants and thinks that normally should not take long end up taking months to get right.

In the mean time you can release at least an update and then work on each feature with a new release until you get it all added Smile

Best Regards,
Term
Report to moderator   Logged
princeopersia

Posts: 12


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2006, 09:26:13 AM »

I like the idea of specifying the css file I want to use in the editor. In fact, I like this more than automatically finding all styles in the file!! This way I will be able to maintain some standard styles for the site.
Report to moderator   Logged
princeopersia

Posts: 12


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2006, 09:39:30 AM »

If all the files are encoded, will I still be able to add, say, an external link to the snippetmaster pages?

One of the features I had requested that probably didn't make it is the capability to add a blank file using a template. I was planning on writing a really small script that allows the admin to type in a name for the new file, and add it using a pre-defined template. The template path and name could be, for example, specified in the config file. I wanted the link to this script available on the snippet master editor pages.

Being unable to add new files, and only edit existing files, is a huge limitiation (in my opinion).
Report to moderator   Logged
Jenkinhill

Posts: 420



[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2006, 03:23:22 PM »

Being unable to add new files, and only edit existing files, is a huge limitiation (in my opinion).

There are plenty of CMSs out here that do that already. Why re-invent the wheel?
Report to moderator   Logged

Kelvyn
princeopersia

Posts: 12


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2006, 03:39:38 PM »

Yes, but the other CMSes also allow editing of the whole page which I don't want. I like snippet master's ability and simplicity of allowing editing of just a snippet. Its just that it would be nice if the user can ADD a new page to the site. All that really means is copying an existing file/template to a new file and allowing user to then edit the blank snippet inside it.
Report to moderator   Logged
Jenkinhill

Posts: 420



[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2006, 12:13:06 AM »

Adding a page in would be fine - except that the next stage for most users would, I suspect, be to add the new page to a menu. That means allowing menu editing, which I can see many users having problems with. I like the simplicity of being able to edit selected text and images on pre-prepared web pages.

Adding in of pages could be done with SM as it currently stands. Prepare some blank pages with editable areas and have them added to the file editing list. Allow the user add content and create a link to the new page when they need to. I just wouldn't let them loose on a page menu.
Report to moderator   Logged

Kelvyn
Fisherman

Posts: 7


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2006, 02:59:44 PM »

Adding a page in would be fine - except that the next stage for most users would, I suspect, be to add the new page to a menu. That means allowing menu editing, which I can see many users having problems with. I like the simplicity of being able to edit selected text and images on pre-prepared web pages.

Adding in of pages could be done with SM as it currently stands. Prepare some blank pages with editable areas and have them added to the file editing list. Allow the user add content and create a link to the new page when they need to. I just wouldn't let them loose on a page menu.

Wow! I agree with that. Just asking for trouble if you give the client too much control. Most of them are idiots. I'd rather they pay me for the additional page and new button and add a snippet tag to the new page. Cheap for them, less headaches for me and the page design stays intact. win-win! Wink
Report to moderator   Logged
princeopersia

Posts: 12


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2006, 12:35:47 PM »

Well, maybe this feature could be turned on or off from the config file. But in any case, at this point, I'd just rather have the new pro version in any form.

Henri, one problem with releasing an RC1 instead of the production version is that the RC1 could get stuck in that stage just like the beta version has. I say lets release Version 2 and come out with any enhancements or fixes (patches, if any) later. What say, folks?

Dunno if you're having any luck with your encoding.

How about an April 1 release with the obvious fallback if things don't work out??  Very Happy
Report to moderator   Logged
dbowling

Posts: 5


[-] Re: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta?
« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2006, 01:20:33 PM »

I would really like to see page creation too. I plan on addressing it by automatically generating the menu on the fly using php in the template... a solution that would be much easier for the user in the end.
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  Pre-Sales Questions  |  Topic: Is SnippetMaster (v2) out of Beta? « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!