SnippetMaster Support Forums
Return to main website
 
February 23, 2018, 10:00:10 PM
* Show unread posts since last visit.
* Show new replies to your posts.
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 23, 2018, 10:00:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:  
Advanced search
* Home Help Search Login Register
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  General Discussion & Support  |  Topic: That Little Red Cross « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: That Little Red Cross  (Read 29340 times)
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] That Little Red Cross
« on: May 06, 2004, 12:02:27 AM »

I have also installed SnippetMaster on a site so I can test for a future client.
I looked around this forum and got the Login working, then i got to the editor screen and guess what... THAT LITTLE RED CROSS is in the little window, right underneath the Micro$oft Word style buttons.

I have been reading through the forums and have not found a solution for this problem so far.

N.B. - No firewall running, Windows XP Pro, IE 6 SP1

Anyone who can help?  Confused
Report to moderator   Logged
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] Screenshot
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2004, 01:16:41 PM »

Screen looks like this...

Report to moderator   Logged
Flutje

Posts: 7


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2004, 04:09:37 AM »

You need to change the source of the image url to
img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image.jpg"

Snippetmaster won't see the image if the tag is
img src="image.jpg"

it needs everything so include http://www.yoursite.com/
I haven't a clue why and I admid it's annoying but there you have it Very Happy

Regards,

Martin
Report to moderator   Logged
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] hmmmm...
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2004, 08:49:59 AM »

ok, that makes sence, but where is the image tag you are referring to?

thankz agen,
Hector
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2004, 07:40:46 PM »

Is this happening when you try to edit a file that contains only an image?   Or is this for every file you try to edit?
Report to moderator   Logged
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2004, 01:29:32 PM »

This happens with every file i attempt to edit.
Report to moderator   Logged
admin
Forum Administrator
*
Posts: 3169

SnippetMaster Author


WWW
[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2004, 02:01:56 PM »

If you send me your config.inc.php file I'll take a look... Smile

henri @ snippetmaster.com
Report to moderator   Logged
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] Sent...
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2004, 11:40:48 PM »

Ok i've just sent it through to you.  Smile
Report to moderator   Logged
Flutje

Posts: 7


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2004, 02:22:17 AM »

The image tag is inside your html page. Everwhere you have an image placed you usually use something like img src="mypicture.jpg"
This won't work you will need img src="http://www.mysite.com/myimage.jpg"

So have a look inside the html of your page and you will find the pictures and change it.

Regards,

Martin
Report to moderator   Logged
bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2004, 06:58:06 AM »

Martin,
it wont work for any pages i try edit. Even if the page is jst a html page with ONE word in the <SNIPPET></SNIPPET> tags it will still display the red cross in the editor.

Thankz
Report to moderator   Logged
KingSky

Posts: 30



[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2004, 10:03:01 AM »

This error has been seen quite a bit before.

The red X you are seeing usually means an image, but it can also mean that an IE helper object did not load (i.e. Flash, Java, etc)

That is what is going on in this case.  For some reason (firewall or Norton-Antivirus perhaps) your editor isn't completely loading.

Just FYI- If this was an image path problem, the image borders would not stretch 100% to the edges of the editor, as there is about a 5 pixel margin.  That's how you can tell it's not.

Kevin
Report to moderator   Logged

bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2004, 01:56:34 PM »

Quote
IE helper object did not load (i.e. Flash, Java, etc)

That is what is going on in this case. For some reason (firewall or Norton-Antivirus perhaps) your editor isn't completely loading.


Thats what i thaught Kevin but i have no firewalls running, i even re-installed Internet Explorer a few times but with no positive results.  Sad

another thing when i click on the W/H button (the first button) i get browser error.  Confused
Report to moderator   Logged
KingSky

Posts: 30



[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2004, 08:45:10 PM »

It sounds like the javascript isn't loading completely... maybe check your security settings and make sure javascript is loading.

I know this problem has never been conclusively solved so I'm not sure what other advice to offer... maybe admin has some ideas  Wink
Report to moderator   Logged

bajangled

Posts: 8


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2004, 11:42:22 PM »

thanks for all your help so far i hope this problem can be resolved as this script sounds pretty incredible.

-hector
Report to moderator   Logged
mindsharpe

Posts: 7


[-] same problem,
« Reply #14 on: June 14, 2004, 07:47:39 PM »

looks like something in the java script may not be loading the content, I am looking into the situation, could be a number of issues, as this is a new install, if anyone has stumbled onto the reason this is occuring let me know and I will do the same, also something of interest is that the preview function works perfectly, I also looked at the output code and the file loaded and is present in the source, however it does not display.
Report to moderator   Logged
KingSky

Posts: 30



[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2004, 09:21:48 AM »

I remember that for a while I had a problem with javascript items loading in web pages.

I wish I could remember how I fixed it... I know that I downloaded a component somehow from Microsoft that was related to browser scripting and I have a feeling it's related to this.

I guess I would go check Windows Update, or else try repairing your browser through the Add/Remove programs and see if you are able to correct the problem that way.
Report to moderator   Logged

mindsharpe

Posts: 7


[-] on runtime I get the following error
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2004, 03:09:30 PM »

the editor partially loads then hangs at the following line

Line: 571
Char: 3
Error: tbContentElement.DOM.body is null or not an object
Code:0
URL: http://www.somewebsite.com/snippetmaster/ieeditor/ieeditor.php?language=English&BASEURL=/
Report to moderator   Logged
circlesquare

Posts: 4


[-] Now I've got it...
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2004, 04:35:48 AM »

I've installed snippetmaster for half a dozen clietns in the last year without problem, and tested locally. Now, all of a sudden, I can't use any of them, they are suffering with the 'red X' - is there a new ie update that has caused this - has anyone worked out a workaround....?

My client is still able to use it without any problems!
Report to moderator   Logged

And now the circle doesn't fit its little square...
mindsharpe

Posts: 7


[-] Java client side exe
« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2004, 05:11:08 AM »

I have not found a fix for this problem yet, I hope that eventually I will be able to use the software, are you running win2000?
Report to moderator   Logged
circlesquare

Posts: 4


[-] That Little Red Cross
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2004, 08:28:31 AM »

Very strange... I have two computeres in the office, both behind the same firewall, both windows xp, both ie6... one works ok and the other doesn't. I've installed both the old microsoft virtual machine and sun java without any change...

No-one has any ideas? Will the new version address this problem? Will there be a new version?

So far all the clients i've set it up for are ok (except one who gets logged out whenver trying to save a change, but i think that's discussedin another post). My concern is alos setting it up and a client has the same problem i do....
Report to moderator   Logged

And now the circle doesn't fit its little square...
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
SnippetMaster Support Forums  |  General  |  General Discussion & Support  |  Topic: That Little Red Cross « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!